top of page
  • Chris O'Reilly

Here are the Gothenburg Fringe 2022 Award Winners

On Sunday evening, we celebrated the end of Gothenburg Fringe 2022 with the awards party.

Artists, volunteers and some of our biggest Fringe fans gathered in Oceanen to enjoy each other's company one last time at the end of a wonderful week and honour some of the many outstanding performances throughout the week.

Alongside a series of themed awards, there was the traditional Nordic Fringe Network Award, which grants the winner automatic acceptance to perform at NFN festivals in 2023 and a new award, titled the GEST Best in Fest.

Supported and chosen by new partners Gothenburg English Studio Theatre, the winning production will receive an invitation to perform a guest run at the theatre in 2023.

The full list of winners can be found below!

Audience Choice - Open vote among audience members

Winner: Them (Spindrift Theatre)

Artists' Choice - Open vote among all participating artists

Winner: The Fields of Wonder (Gaetano Badalamenti)

GEST Best in Fest

Winner: Garry Starr: Greece Lightning

Hype Award - Most interest generated before and during the festival

Winner: Anyway (Mauricio Rodriguez Villvizar)

Nominated: A Simple Misunderstanding (Zander Constant, Zach Enquist and Rachel McNamee) Eventually (Jonathan Nagel feat. Susanna Ylikoski)

Hot Potato - tackling of current and relevant social issues

Winner: Something in the Water (Scantily Glad Theatre)

Nominated: This is not the end (Tova Ekenberg) Biejvvelådde (Pandemic productions AB)

Nordic Fringe Network Award - outstanding Nordic-based performance

Winner: A Simple Misunderstanding (Zander Constant, Zach Enquist and Rachel McNamee)

Nominated: Kontakt Three Men From the North (The Nordic Council)

Mind Blown Award - a performance that impacted audiences in unexpected ways

Winner: Before this & Sometimes, not always (ilYoung)


Shattered (Diana Varco) Perfect World of Love (Fierbinteanu)

City is our stage award - best incorporation of a given space

Winner: Traverser la rivière sous la pluie (In Itinere Collectif)

Nominated: Tunnel Vision (Linda Wardal & Cha Blasco) Historiska Spöken (Hörsägen)

215 views0 comments


bottom of page